Cabin in the Woods

Here is an actual photograph of me from my experience in a quaint cabin somewhere north of here for Thanksgiving.

(Roots shown actual size)

This is pretty much my experience for every holiday from childhood until now.  Except as an adult I at least have the sense to only eat 2 rolls with my meal and eat 2 rolls later after falling asleep. (Four rolls! That is too many rolls!)  And my helping of mashed potatoes was heartbreakingly sensible. 

After spending many hours Wednesday chopping, peeling, baking, and pre-cooking, Thursday went by in a flash.  That may have something to do with the Bloody Mary, 2 vodka tonics and 1/2 of a vodka and juice (tragically losing 1/2 of its life in high-five incident in which I grazed it with my elbow).  Followed by hours of ‘napping’ which turned into going to bed-ing while everyone else stayed up playing games and laughing.  2 toddlers literally shamed me.

The rest of the weekend I played far more Sims than anyone should (especially after boyfriend accidentally saved over my game and I had to start my fake life ALL OVER AGAIN). And slept like a hibernating animal, waking only to resume my fake life and forage.  It was tragically void of partying, though we did go out Saturday night and had a lot of fun and late night pizza.

 

One Response to “Cabin in the Woods”

  1. I gotta say, the pic is pretty awesome. Also, four rolls are perfectly acceptable on Thanksgiving, especially when slathered with butter. It’s like, a law or something. 🙂

Leave a Reply

